Stooged Theatre


Stooged Theatre was formed in 2003 by a group of young adults who had a desire to write, produce and create their own performances around Newcastle in New South Wales, Australia.The group was best known for radical Shakespeare adaptations and comedies in their early years, before a decision was made in 2009 to start focusing on their craft and operate as a profit-share.Since then, Stooged has become Newcastle’s leading independent theatre company, staging challenging contemporary texts and engaging some of the city’s best professional actors in high-quality productions. 

Stooged has both introduced Newcastle to the best new writers from around the world (such as Neil LaBute, Nina Raine, Laura Wade and Martin McDonagh) and premiered Australian writers such as Reg Cribb, Brendan Cowell and Shaun Charles. 

In 2011, 2012 and 2014, Stooged Theatre was the recipient of the City of Newcastle Drama Award (CONDA) for Best Production for their seasons of Rabbit, The Pillowman and Checklist For an Armed Robber respectively. In 2013, Stooged Theatre become an incorporated, not-for-profit association and is now run as an ensemble. 

Stooged Theatre are:

Mathew Lee (Artistic Director)

Chloe Perrett (Associate Director)

Daniel Cottier (Literary and Development Manager)

Carl Young & Tim O'Donnell (Treasurer)

Elese Murray (Production Manager)

Rachelle Schmidt Adnum (Head of Ensemble)

Joel Yager (Technical Manager)

Elise Bialek, Mitchell Cox, Emily Daly, Scott Eveleigh, Joseph Issa, Rachel Jackett, Giverny Lewis, Benjamin Louttit, Laura O'Donnell, Callan Purcell, Theo Rule, Luke Standen, Glen Waterhouse, Amy Wilde, John Wood, Joshua Yager  (Ensemble Members)